Make it a High Bridge day and explore some of the other features our small town has to offer.
High Bridge Hills Golf Club
The High Bridge Hills Golf Club has emerged as Northern New Jersey’s best true links course. Home to championship golf in the British-Irish tradition, their par 70, 6,500 yard course provides golfers an authentic true-links layout on spectacular terrain overlooking the beautiful Spruce Run Reservoir.
The Columbia Trail
Near the top of Main street is an entrance to the Columbia Trail — the state’s longest jogging and biking trail. The 15-mile crushed-stone trail rolls along the South Branch of the Raritan River, passing through historical communities such as High Bridge and Califon, as well as a steep, natural gorge.
Lake Solitude and Falls
From the time of its construction in 1858, Lake Solitude provided a functional use as a power source for the Foundry as well as a popular recreation area. In 1909 the original crib dam was replaced by the current spillway structure, which is a significant example of dam engineering known as the buttress dam. This is the earliest example of this construction type, and it is the last remaining buttress dam in New Jersey. The dam is recognized by the State and nationally as a significant historic structure.
Ken Lockwood Gorge
The Ken Lockwood Gorge is on the south branch of the Raritan River and is a well-known fly-fishing spot. The 500-acre Ken Lockwood Wildlife Management Area is managed primarily for hunting and fishing. It is also one of the New Jersey’s most picturesque WMAs. Towering hemlocks lining the steep walls of the gorge provide shade and contribute to a sense of isolation. A 2.5-mile stretch of the South Branch of the Raritan River flows through the gorge, cascading over boulders, spilling over small waterfalls, and pouring into quiet pools. It is a wild and scenic river particularly in the spring.
Solitude House, at 7 River Road, adjacent to Lake Solitude, is a High Bridge landmark that predates the American Revolution. Among the Revolutionary War figures who visited Solitude House are George and Martha Washington, General Lafayette, Colonel Charles Stewart, and Aaron Burr.
The oldest portions of the house were built in 1712. Three decades later, it became part of the property of the Union Iron Works, and it doubled in size in 1755. In the 1850’s, major remodeling was done to the house, and it took on the look that it has today.
Solitude House is located on part of the seven-mile Taylor Steelworks Historical Greenway. There are a number of explanatory signs and plaques, and other buildings located along the trail.
The Nassau Trail
The Nassau Trail System covers a four-mile walk through Borough-owned property. Starting in 2011 High Bridge residents Jeff Oliver, Thatcher Simpson and a crew of volunteers have used well-established and eco-friendly techniques to expand the original Trail into a flowing, single-track mountain bike trail system. The reconfiguration of the Trail opened up previously difficult areas to hikers and bikers.
Restaurants and Shops
And, of course, when you’re finished with all of your activities you can shop and relax at one of the Main Street businesses and restaurants.